New Play Development Program

Supporting artists is central to the mission of the Geffen Playhouse, and play commissions are a cornerstone of that support. To commission a playwright to write a play means making a commitment to their voice, craft and vision, with the hope of sharing the fruits of their work on our stage.

The Geffen Playhouse’s New Play Development Program is made possible, in large part, through the leadership and generosity of donations from: The Edgerton Foundation, The Harold & Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, Fay & Frank Mancuso, Sandra Krause & William Fitzgerald, Hilary & Jack Angelo, and Mary Bianco, The MOCA Foundation.

We are proud to have the following writers under commission:

• Rachel Bonds
• Colman Domingo
• Lindsey Ferrentino
• Michael Golamco
• Meghan Kennedy
• Matthew Lopez
• Martyna Majok
• Michael Mitnick
• Jiehae Park
• José Rivera
• Robert Schenkkan
• Shaka Senghor
• Erika Sheffer
• Nick Stafford
• David Wiener
• Lauren Yee
• Anna Ziegler

To learn how you can play a role in supporting this program as well, please contact Regina Miller at