Loading. Please wait...

Geffen Playhouse recognized with 12 NAACP Theatre Nominations

At left, Omar Dorsey, Yvette Cason, Kimberly Hébert Gregory, Heather Alicia Simms in Barbecue. At right, Nate Corddry, Rebecca Henderson, Keith Powell, Jennifer Mudge, Lucas Near-Verbrugghe in Icebergs. Photos by Jeff Lorch Photography.

Yesterday afternoon, the NAACP Beverly Hills/Hollywood Theatre Viewing Committee announced their nominations for recognition of excellence in theater in Los Angeles for the 27th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards, earning the Geffen Playhouse 12 nominations for its productions of Barbecue and Icebergs. We’re thrilled that so many brilliant artists from our theater were honored with these nominations, and we are proud to have showcased their work. Here’s a recap of those productions, their nominations and all the artists that helped them come to life.


By Robert O’Hara

Photo by Jeff Lorch Photography

Photo by Jeff Lorch Photography

Barbecue is a searing comedy from Robert O’Hara taking place on the day of a family barbecue turned family intervention by a group of siblings trying to convince their sister to go to rehab. Their ham-handed intervention ignites the fuse of this raucous and rollicking new comedy that skewers our warped view of the American family. Here are all the nominations for Barbecue and a few more snapshots from our production.


Best Playwright: Robert O’Hara

Best Director: Colman Domingo

Best Costumes-Larger Theatre: Kara Harmon

Best Ensemble Cast-Larger Theatre: Cherise Booth, Yvette Cason, Dale Dickey, Omar J. Dorsey, Frances Fisher, Kimberly Hébert Gregory, Travis Johns, Elyse Mirto, Heather Alicia Simms, Rebecca Wisocky.

Best Lighting-Larger Theatre: Lap Chi Chu

Best Producer-Larger Theatre: Geffen Playhouse

Best Set Design-Larger Theatre: Sibyl Wickersheimer

Best Sound-Larger Theatre: Lindsay Jones

Playwright Robert O’Hara. Photo by Jeff Lorch Photography

Director Colman Domingo. Photo by Jeff Lorch Photography

Cast of Barbecue with Playwright and Director. Left to Right: Robert O’Hara, Cherise Booth, Heather Alicia Simms, Kimberly Hébert Gregory, Colman Domingo, Frances Fisher, Yvette Cason, Dale Dickey, Rebecca Wisocky, Elyse Mirto, Omar J. Dorsey, Travis Johns. Photo by Jeff Lorch Photography.


By Alena Smith

Actor Keith Powell. Photo by Jeff Lorch Photography.

Icebergs by Alena Smith takes place in Silver Lake on a warm November night. This acerbic, affectionate and affecting world premiere comedy, follows a new generation of thirty somethings navigate filmmaking and family planning, trying to put down roots before everything melts away. Here are the nominations for Icebergs and a photo of our endlessly funny cast below, including nominee Keith Powell.


Best Lighting Design- Larger Theatre: Daniel Ionazzi

Best Producer-Larger Theatre: Geffen Playhouse

Best Set Design-Larger Theatre: Anthony T. Fanning

Best Supporting Male- Larger Theatre: Keith Powell

The Cast of Icebergs. Photo Credit Jeffrey Lorch.

We’d also like to congratulate actor and Geffen alum Larry Powell who was also nominated for his performance in Father Comes Home From the Wars Parts 1, 2 and 3 by Susan Lori Parks at The Public Theatre in New York. He was featured in our production of The Legend of Georgia McBride this past spring.

Congratulations to each and every one of the nominees!

Loading. Please wait...