Skip to Content (Press Enter)

SOLD OUT!

Performances are sold out thru October 10. CLICK HERE and sign-up to be notified when additional showtimes are added.

New! Lottery Tickets: We’re partnering with TodayTix to offer a weekly lottery for $30 tickets to select performances beginning in August. The lottery is now open, CLICK HERE to enter.

OVERVIEW

The Present is inspired by Helder Guimarães’ own life experience with quarantine during childhood. Using his signature mind-bending illusions, Guimarães recalls the funny, moving, and ultimately illuminating lessons he learned when he least expected them, and shares this story with us at a time when we need it most.

This new production will take place virtually via Zoom with a maximum of 25 households per show. You will be mailed a sealed mystery package in advance, the contents of which will only be revealed during the course of each performance, as Guimarães’ story unfolds. In a unique twist, The Present will provide both a virtual and physical experience, as magic will also take place in your own hands, from the comfort of your own home.

Major support for this world premiere production provided by the Edgerton Foundation New Play Production Fund


HOW IT WORKS

1) Purchase a ticket online through this website at least 7 days in advance.
2) A mystery package will be sent to you inside a USPS Priority Mail box.
3) DO NOT OPEN this package until instructed during the show.
4) Follow the instructions and log-in to the Zoom virtual theater at the date and time of your performance.
5) Enjoy the show.

DOES ZOOM WORK ON YOUR DEVICE?

Take this quick test.

QUESTIONS?

Click here to learn more about this production.


Performance Information

Runtime
70 minutes, no intermission.
Late Seating

The virtual lobby will open 30 minutes prior to your showtime. Be sure to log on at least 15 minutes prior to your showtime so we can check you in. There will be no late seating.

Warnings

Given the unique nature and logistics of this production, tickets must be purchased seven days in advance of any given performance date. Recommended for audiences 12 years and older. Adult supervision required for participation.

“A storyteller with a philosophical air” “'The Present' sure makes isolation a lot more bearable.” “One wonder bled into the next.” “A storyteller with a philosophical air” “'The Present' sure makes isolation a lot more bearable.” “One wonder bled into the next.” “A storyteller with a philosophical air” “'The Present' sure makes isolation a lot more bearable.” “One wonder bled into the next.”

News

Upcoming Shows

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, July 16, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, July 17, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, July 18, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, July 19, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, July 23, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, July 24, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, July 25, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, July 26, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, July 30, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, July 31, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, August 01, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, August 02, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, August 04, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, August 05, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, August 06, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, August 07, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, August 08, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, August 09, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, August 11, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, August 13, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, August 14, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, August 15, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, August 16, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, August 20, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, August 21, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, August 23, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, August 27, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, August 28, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, August 29, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, August 30, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, September 01, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, September 02, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, September 03, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, September 04, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, September 05, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, September 06, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, September 08, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, September 09, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, September 10, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, September 11, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, September 12, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, September 13, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, September 17, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, September 18, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, September 19, 2020

11:00AM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, September 20, 2020

11:00AM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, September 22, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, September 24, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, September 25, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, September 26, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, September 27, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, September 30, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, October 01, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, October 02, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, October 03, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Sunday, October 04, 2020

2:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
7:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Tuesday, October 06, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Wednesday, October 07, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Thursday, October 08, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Friday, October 09, 2020

8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets

Saturday, October 10, 2020

3:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets
8:00PM

The Present

Geffen Stayhouse Theater

Buy Tickets